University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota: Department of Mechanical Engineering
http://www.me.umn.edu/
  • Faculty
  • Admin & Operations Staff
  • Research Staff & Post Docs
  • Graduate Students
  • Lab Directory
abel

Julianna Abel
Assistant Professor
Office: 107 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-301-7065
Email: jabel@umn.edu

 

aksan 

Alptekin Aksan
Professor
Office: 241 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-6618
Email: aaksan@umn.edu

Jennifer Alexander

Jennifer Alexander
Associate Professor
Office: 239 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-7309
Email: alexa056@umn.edu

 

Matt Anderson
Teaching Assistant Professor
Office: 113 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-4318
Email: mja@umn.edu

John Bischof
Professor
Office: 200 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-5513
Email: bischof@umn.edu

 

Peter J. Bruggeman
Professor
Office: 2101D Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-8391
Email: pbruggem@umn.edu

Chase

Thomas Chase
Professor
Office: 305 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-0308
Email: trchase@umn.edu

 

cui

Tianhong Cui
Professor
Office: 2106 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-1636
Email: cuixx006@umn.edu

Jane Davidson

Jane Davidson
Professor
Office: 3101E Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-9850
Email: jhd@umn.edu

 

Donath

Max Donath
Professor
Office: 3101B Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-2304
Email: donath@umn.edu

dumitrica

Traian Dumitricã
Professor
Office: 244 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-3797
Email: dtraian@umn.edu

durfee

William Durfee
Professor
Office: 2101B Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-0099
Email: wkdurfee@umn.edu

dutcher

Cari Dutcher
Associate Professor
Office: 111 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-624-0428
Email: cdutcher@umn.edu

 

erdman

Arthur Erdman
Professor
Office: 315 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-8580
Email: agerdman@umn.edu

girshick

Steven Girshick
Professor
Office: 2101E Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-5315
Email: slg@umn.edu

 

hogan

Chris Hogan
Professor
Office: 109 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-8312
Email: hogan108@umn.edu

hong

Jiarong Hong
Associate Professor
Office: 233 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-4562
Email: jhong@umn.edu

 

Allison Hubel
Professor
Office: 2101C Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-4451
Email: hubel001@umn.edu

Ilic

Ognjen Ilic
Assistant Professor
Office: 213 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-8884
Email: ilic@umn.edu

 

Kelso

Frank Kelso
Teaching Professor
Office: 3104 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-0714
Email: kelso001@umn.edu

kittelson

David Kittelson
Professor
Office: 215 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-1808
Email: kitte001@umn.edu

 

kodandaramaiah

Suhasa Kodandaramaiah
Assistant Professor
Office: 303 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-301-1636
Email: suhasabk@umn.edu

kortshagen

Uwe Kortshagen
Professor
Office: 2101F Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-4028
Email: kortshagen@umn.edu

 

kowalewski

Tim Kowalewski
Assistant Professor
Office: 207 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-0054
Email: timk@umn.edu

kulacki

Francis Kulacki
Professor
Office: 121 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-3807
Email: kulac001@umn.edu

 

lee

Sungyon Lee
Assistant Professor
Office: 105 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-301-2497
Email: sungyon@umn.edu

li

Perry Y. Li
Professor
Office: 309 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-7815
Email: lixxx099@umn.edu

 

mantell

Susan Mantell
Professor
Office: 1100C Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-1324
Email: smantell@umn.edu

mcalpine

Michael C. McAlpine
Professor
Office: 115 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-3303
Email: mcalpine@umn.edu

 

northrop

Will Northrop
Associate Professor
Office: 209 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-6854
Email: wnorthro@umn.edu

pui

David Pui
Regents Professor
Office: 3101F Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-2537
Email: dyhpui@umn.edu

 

Rajesh Rajamani
Office: 203 Mechanical Engineering
Professor
Phone: 612-626-7961
Email: rajamani@umn.edu

shen

Lian Shen
Professor
Office: 229 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-7527
Email: shen@umn.edu

  simon

Terrence Simon
Professor
Office: 235 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-5831
Email: simon002@umn.edu

srinivasan

Vinod Srinivasan
Assistant Professor
Office: 231 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-301-1885
Email: vinods@umn.edu

  stelson

Kim Stelson
Professor
Office: 311 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-7168
Email: kstelson@umn.edu

strykowski

Paul Strykowski
Professor
Office: 115 Lind Hall / 237 Mech Eng
Phone: 612-626-2008
Email: pstry@umn.edu

  sun

Zongxuan Sun
Professor
Office: 3110 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-2107
Email: zsun@umn.edu

tamma

Kumar Tamma
Professor
Office: 2104 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-1821
Email: ktamma@umn.edu

  van de ven

James Van de Ven
Associate Professor
Office: 307 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-2499
Email: vandeven@umn.edu

xj wang

Xiaojia "XJ" Wang
Assistant Professor
Office: 246 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-1583
Email: wang4940@umn.edu

  Natasha Wright

Natasha Wright
Assistant Professor
Office:  
Phone:  
Email: wrigh677@umn.edu

suo yang

Suo Yang
Assistant Professor
Office: 3101C Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-4520
Email: suo-yang@umn.edu

   

Emeritus Faculty

 

Affiliate Faculty

Patrick Alford
Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
pwalford@umn.edu

 

Victor Barocas
Professor
Biomedical Engineering
baroc001@umn.edu

Michele Guala
Associate Professor
Civil, Environmental, and Geo- Engineering
mguala@umn.edu

 

Paul Iaizzo
Professor
Medical School
iaizz001@umn.edu

Steven Koester
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
skoester@umn.edu

 

Andrew Lamperski
Assistant Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
alampers@umn.edu

David Odde
Professor
Biomedical Engineering
oddex002@umn.edu

 

Nikolas Papanikolopoulos
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering
npapas@cs.umn.edu

Stergios Roumeliotis
Professor
Computer Science and Engineering
stergios@cs.umn.edu

 

Murti Salapaka
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
murtis@umn.edu

Svetlana "Lana" Yarosh
Assistant Professor
Computer Science and Engineering
lana@umn.edu

 

 

burger

Alyssa Burger
Office: 325C Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-624-4991
Email: alyssa@umn.edu

Area: Student Services & CCEFP

 

carhart

Andy Carhart
Office: 1100D Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-4099
Email: carh0002@umn.edu

Area: Purchasing

chapman

Sarah Chapman
Office: 1100 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-0705
Email: schapman@umn.edu

Area: Departmental Support

 

dahal

Jennifer Dahal
Office: 1120 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-8111
Email: jdahal@umn.edu

Area: Departmental Support

rosemary davis

Rosemary Davis
Office: 1120 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-5326
Email: davis943@umn.edu

Area: Co-op Program

  maura dunst

Maura Dunst
Office: 1100 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-7089
Email: mdunst@umn.edu

Area: Communications

gardner

John Gardner
Office:1120 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-2009
Email: gardn032@umn.edu

Area: Student Services - Graduate Ed

  graul

Catherine Graul
Office: 1120 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-5326
Email: cgraul@umn.edu

Area: Co-op Program

hokan

Hokan
Office: 376 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-9800
Email: hokan@me.umn.edu

Area: Enet

  Jenny Holden

Jenny Holden
Office: 313 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-2547
Email: rampi002@umn.edu

Area: Medical Devices Center

trisha johnson

Trisha Huntosh
Office: L121 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-5642
Email: johnsont@umn.edu

Area: Medical Devices Center

  image alt text

Gail Johansen
Office: 101 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-6645
Email: meacctng@umn.edu

Area: Finance

jun

Haewon Jun
Office: 1100D Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-4099
Email: junxx068@umn.edu

Area: Purchasing

  lassegard

Margaux Lassegard
Office: 1100 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-624-3355
Email: mepay@umn.edu

Area: Payroll

loeffler

Peter Loeffler
Office: 1120 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-5326
Email: ploeffle@umn.edu

Area: Co-op program

  maharaj

Richard Maharaj
Office: 1124 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-1301
Email: nmaharaj@umn.edu

Area: Shipping/Receiving

markfort

Paul Markfort
Office: 376 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-9800
Email: paulfm@umn.edu

Area: Enet

  miller

Kerri Miller
Office: 1100B Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-9315
Email: kerrim@umn.edu

Area: Chief of Staff

miller

Miranda Miller
Office: 1120 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-5842
Email: hein0258@umn.edu

Area: Student Services - Undergrad Ed

  mooney

Karon Mooney
Office: 1100 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-2289
Email: mooney@umn.edu

Area: Support to the Department Head

muno

Ray Muno
Office: 376 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-626-9800
Email: muno@umn.edu

Area: Enet

  piorek

Tori Piorek
Office: 2101 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-6808
Email: pior0003@umn.edu

Area: Administrative Support

saari

Anne Saari
Office: 1120 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-5326
Email: saari074@umn.edu

Area: Co-op Program

  sauer

Katie Sauer
Office: 101 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-624-3498
Email: sauer083@umn.edu

Area: Finance

schumacher

Noel Schumacher
Office: 103 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-624-6378
Email: schu1293@umn.edu

Area: Finance

  schwieters

Ann Schwind
Office: 101 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-7824
Email: schwind@umn.edu

Area: Finance

zimmermann

Peter Zimmermann
Office: 176 Mechanical Engineering
Phone: 612-625-7855
Email: zimme049@umn.edu

Area: Anderson Student Machine Shop

     

 

 

Student Assistants

rachel adams

Rachel Adams
adam1192@umn.edu

Anderson Student Machine Shop

  shruti agarwal

Shruti Agarwal
agarw161@umn.edu

Communications

steven_gillan

Steven Gillen
gille454@umn.edu

Student Services Office

 

Audrey Hapka
meundergrad@umn.edu

Student Services Office

heen

Erik Heen
mebuild@umn.edu

Shipping / Receiving / ME Building Assistant

  hingtgen

Isaac Hingtgen
hingt008@umn.edu

Anderson Student Machine Shop

Indi Hoisington
meundergrad@umn.edu

Student Services Office

  huston

Derek Huston
mebuild@umn.edu

Shipping / Receiving / ME Building Assistant

abigail lavey

Abigail Lavey
dmd-abigail@umn.edu

Medical Devices Center

 

Wyatt Lillemoe
mefront@umn.edu

Administrative Support Services

masica

Jillian Litos
Email: litos001@umn.edu

Assistant to Professor Goldstein

  masica

Ian Masica
co-op@umn.edu

ME Co-op

sarah peiffer

Sarah Peiffer
meundergrad@umn.edu

Student Services Office

  sarah poehlmann

Sarah Poehlmann
mefront@umn.edu

Administrative Support Services

evan swift

Evan Swift
Email: swift099@umn.edu

Anderson Student Machine Shop

  celina tragesser

Celina Tragesser
trage018@umn.edu

Center for Compact & Efficient Fluid Power

celina tragesser

Anna Warmka
mefront@umn.edu

Administrative Support Services

     

 

Research Staff


craig

Curtis Craig
L113 Mechanical Engineering
craigc@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Max Donath

davis

Brian Davis
L107 Mechanical Engineering
612-625-0323
davis862@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Max Donath

drahos

Bradley Drahos
261 Mechanical Engineering
Email: draho016@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Tim Kowalewski

Peter Easterlund

Peter Easterlund
4124 Mechanical Engineering
612-626-9130
petere@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Max Donath

etheridge

Michael Etheridge
Office N/A
ethe0013@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: John Bischof

gao

Zhe Gao
201 Mechanical Engineering
gaoxx656@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: John Bischof

haag

Shawn Haag
132 Murphy Engine Research Lab
612-301-1138
srhaag@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: William Northrop

hathaway

Brandon Hathaway
3101A Mechanical Engineering
612-625-7807
hatha050@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Jane Davidson

kim

Seong Chan Kim
Senior Research Scientist
2101A Mechanical Engineering
612-626-1517
sckim@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: David Pui

liao

Chen-Fu Liao
L103 Mechanical Engineering
612-626-1697
cliao@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Max Donath

linn

Samantha Linn
Mechanical Engineering
linnx113@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Suhasa Kodandaramaiah

magnuson

Elliott Magnuson
205 Mechanical Engineering
magnu450@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: John Bischof

marabella

Ian Marabella
L105 Mechanical Engineering
marab005@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Chris Hogan

morris

Nichole Morris
Director, HumanFIRST Laboratory
L115 Mechanical Engineering
612-624-4614
nlmorris@umn.edu

Bernard Olson

Bernard Olson
3101A Mechanical Engineering
612-625-7807
olso0209@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Chris Hogan

ou

Qisheng Ou
3100 Mechanical Engineering
612-624-7016
qou@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: David Pui

park

Sun Hyun Park
361 Mechanical Engineering
612-301-2503
shpark@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Michael McAlpine

schwieters

Katelyn Schwieters
Mechanical Engineering
schwi154@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Nichole Morris

shao

Qi Shao
6-210 Hasselmo Hall
shaox070@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: John Bischof

simeni

Marien Simeni Simeni
L106 Mechanical Engineering
612-626-0201
msimenis@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Peter Bruggeman

zarling

Darrick Zarling
Murphy Engine Research Lab 132
612-301-1138
dzarling@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: David Kittelson

zhang

Tianyi Zhang
4128 Mechanical Engineering
651-210-8479
zhan6202@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Tianhong Cui

 

Post-Docs

andaraarachchi

Himashi Andaraarachchi
L126 Mechanical Engineering, Office 3
handaraa@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Uwe Kortshagen

Cao

Qingfeng Cao
Mechanical Engineering L136
caoxx409@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: David Pui

carter

Nathan Carter
361/363 Mechanical Engineering
ncarter@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Michael McAlpine

chen

Yun Chen
265/370 Mechanical Engineering
chen5751@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Cari Dutcher

cho

Seokwon Cho
Murphy Engine Research Lab
swcho@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Will Northrop

druecke

Benjamin Druecke
Mechanical Engineering
bdruecke@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Sungyon Lee

dhan

Daehoon Han
Mechanical Engineering
dhan@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Michael McAlpine

ghan

Guebum Han
361/363 Mechanical Engineering
ghan@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Michael McAlpine

jeon

Woongsun Jeon
13/369 Mechanical Engineering
jeonx121@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Rajesh Rajamani

khosla

Kanav Khosla
201/3120 Mechanical Engineering
khosl004@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: John Bischof

meng

Fanben Meng
361/363 Mechanical Engineering
fmeng@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Michael McAlpine

micklavzina

Benjamin Micklavzina
265 Mechanical Engineering
bmicklav@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Cari Dutcher

park

Yensil Park
11 Mechanical Engineering Office
park2359@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Chris Hogan

qiu

Kaiyan Qiu
361/363 Mechanical Engineering
kqiu@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Michael McAlpine

sharma

Anirudh Sharma
201/3120 Mechanical Engineering
shar0340@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: John Bischof

zhou

Dezhi Zhou
331 Mechanical Engineering
zhou0195@umn.edu

PI/Supervisor: Suo Yang

 

Lab Directory

Professor/Lead Room Laboratories/Centers
Abel 355 Design of Active Materials and Structures Laboratory
Aksan 2124 Bioencapsulation Laboratory
Aksan 3124 Biostabilization Laboratory
Bruggeman L130 Cold Plasma Diagnostics and Applications Lab
Bischof 3120 Bioheat and Mass Transfer Laboratory
Bischof 255 IEM Cancer Animal Core Laboratory
Bruggeman   High Temperature and Plasma Laboratory
Chase   Engineering Visualization Laboratory
Cui 4128 Technology Integration and Advanced Nano/Microsystems Laboratory
Cui/Simon 3136 Micro/Nano Heat Transfer Laboratory
Davidson 1134 High Temperature Solar Energy Laboratory
Davidson 4122 Solar Energy Laboratory
Donath L134 Intelligent Vehicles Lab
Donath 4124 HumanFIRST Laboratory - Driving Simulator
Donath 1103 HumanFIRST Laboratory - Portable Driving Simulator
Dumitrica 240-244 Computational Nanomechanics and Nanoscale Heat Transfer
Durfee 3126 Human/Machine Design Laboratory
Dutcher 265 Complex Fluids and Multiphase Flows Laboratory
Erdman L121 Medical Devices Center Annex
Girshick   High Temperature and Plasma Laboratory
Hogan 457 Aerosol Diagnostics Laboratory
Hogan 4136 Nanoparticle and Cluster Physics Laboratory
Hogan 365 Particle Diagnostics Laboratory
Hong 76 Flow Field Imaging Lab
Hubel 3134 BioCoR - Biopreservation Core Research
Kittelson/Northrop MERL Thomas E Murphy Engine Research Laboratory; Center for Diesel Research
Kodandaramaiah 331 Biosensing and Biorobotics Laboratory
Kortshagen   High Temperature and Plasma Laboratory
Kortshagen L122-l126 Kortshagen Group
Kowalewski 261 Medical Robotics and Devices Lab
Kulacki 351 Heat and Mass Transfer Laboratory
Lee 375 Drops, Interfaces & Particulate System (DrIPs)
Li 451 Fluid Power Research Laboratory
Li 3130 Mechatronics & Intelligent Machines Laboratory
Mantell 2120 Polymer Materials and Mechanics Laboratory
McAlpine 361-363 3D Printing Functional Materials & Devices
Olson 251-252 Particle Calibration Laboratory
Olson   Thermal Environmental Engineering Teaching Laboratory
Pui L136,
4130-4134
Particle Technology Lab / Center for Filtration Research
Rajamani 369 Laboratory for Innovations in Sensing, Estimation, and Control (LISEC)
Rajamani 3132 Laboratory for Innovations in Sensing, Estimation, and Control (LISEC)
Shen 10A Computational Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Shen L123 Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
Simon 273 Turbulent Convective Heat Transfer
Srinivasan 473 Multiphase Transport Phenomena Laboratory
Stelson 72 Hydraulic Power Transmission Lab
Strykowski 471 Shear Flow Control Laboratory
Sun 54 Automotive Propulsion Control Laboratory
Tamma 2 Multi-Scale Physics Laboratory
Van de Ven 271 Mechanical Energy & Power Systems Laboratory
Wang 55 Micro/Nanoscale Thermal Transport Laboratory
Yang L101 Computational Reactive Flow & Energy Laboratory (CRFEL)

 

D E P A R T M E N T    O F    M E C H A N I C A L    E N G I N E E R I N G
111 Church Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455 | 612-625-0705 | meweb@umn.edu   Follow us on Twitter   Like us on Facebook   Join our network