University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota: Department of Mechanical Engineering

Energy Energy

Participating Faculty:

Julianna Abel
Peter Bruggeman

Jane Davidson
Sean Garrick
Steven Girshick
Richard Goldstein
David Kittelson
Frank Kulacki
Uwe Kortshagen
Perry Li
Sue Mantell

Mike McAlpine
Will Northrop

Lian Shen
Terry Simon
Eph Sparrow
Kim Stelson
Paul Strykowski
Zongxuan Sun
James Van de Ven
Xiaojia Wang
Suo Yang



The Department of Mechanical Engineering pursues a diverse range of research in the areas of energy conversion and renewable energy. The Center for Compact and Efficient Fluid Power engages in the development of new, more energy-efficient drive-trains based on hydraulic hybrid technology. The Thomas E. Murphy Engine Research Laboratory focuses the energy-efficiency and environmental impact of internal combustion engines. The Solar Energy Lab focuses on producing fuels with solar energy and on increasing building energy-efficiency through solar energy utilization. Research on energy-nanotechnology focuses on improving the efficiency and lowering the cost of solar cells, turning waste heat into electricity through thermoelectric devices, and developing more efficient light sources.



Automotive Propulsion Control Laboratory

Kortshagen Group

Center for Compact and Efficient Fluid Power

Compressed Air Energy Storage (CAES) Group

Computational Reactive Flow & Energy Lab (CRFEL)

Energy Nanotechnology

Fluid Mechanics Lab

Fluid Power Controls Laboratory

Mechanical Energy & Power Systems Laboratory

Solar Energy Laboratory

St. Anthony Falls Laboratory

Thomas E Murphy Engine Research Laboratory

Turbulent Convection Heat Transfer Laboratory