University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota: Department of Mechanical Engineering
me building

ME in the News

Assistant Professor Will Northrop was featured in Ag Innovation News from the Agricultural Utilization Research Institute. He is working toward providing a cheaper, cleaner diesel fuel.

Professor Peter McMurry was featured in a Department of Energy, Office of Science's article titled, "The Secret Life of Aerosols."

Associate Professor Alptekin Aksan received a grant from the University of Minnesota's Institute on the Environment to develop a low-cost solution to produce clean drinking water.

Professor Kumar Tamma was awarded the 2014 IACM Fellow Award from the International Association for Computational Mechanics.

Assistant Professor Jiarong Hong, along with doctoral student Mostafa Toloui, former master's student Sean Riely, and colleagues from the Saint Anthony Falls Lab completed a research study to visualize the airflow behind a wind turbine using Minnesota a blizzard. Their work was featured in National Geographic,, Yahoo News,, Science 2.0, Nanowerk, Science Codex, and Nature Communications.

Doctoral student Shan Hu received faculty position offers from a number of universities and accepted an Assistant Professor position at Iowa State University. Her doctoral dissertation focused on carbon nanotube based technologies for active noise cancellation in a building window and was advised by Professor Rajesh Rajamani.

Doctoral student Ranganathan Gopalakrishnan was chosen as the ME Department nominee for the University of Minnesota Best Dissertation Award. He received Honorable Mention.

Want even more news and updates? Follow us on Twitter and Facebook!

HEAPR Funding for ME

Spring Seminars

Make a Gift